social sciences
special features
about glbtq

Advertising Opportunities
Press Kit
Research Guide
Terms of Service
Privacy Policy
site guide
search tips
research guide
editors & contributors
contact us
send feedback
write the editor
Subscribe to our free e-mail newsletter to receive a spotlight on glbtq culture every month.
e-mail address:
Popular Topics in Literature
Michelangelo Buonarroti Michelangelo Buonarroti
Best known for his genius in art and architecture, Michelangelo was also an accomplished author of homoerotic poetry.
Byron, George Gordon, Lord Byron, George Gordon, Lord
The bisexual Lord Byron treated many of his homosexual love affairs in his poetry, encoding them by the use of classical references or by purporting that they were affairs with women.
Modern Drama Modern Drama
Before Stonewall, censorship of the theater caused authors to encode homosexual content in publicly-presented plays.
Camp Camp
Combining elements of incongruity, theatricality, and exaggeration, camp is a form of humor that helps homosexuals cope with a hostile environment.
Selvadurai, Shyam
Sri Lankan-Canadian writer Shyam Selvadurai has emerged as a significant figure in post-colonial and gay writing by virtue of the style, wit, and perspicacity of his three novels.
Musical Theater
There has always been homosexual involvement in American musical theatre and a homosexual sensibility even in straight musicals, and recently the Broadway musical has welcomed openly homosexual themes and situations.
African-American Literature: Gay Male African-American Literature: Gay Male
The African-American gay male literary tradition consists of a substantial body of texts and includes some of the most gifted writers of the twentieth century.
Philippine Literature
A vigorous gay and lesbian literature emerged in the Philippines in the last two decades of the twentieth century.
Congratulations to GLBTQ Victors in Recent Primaries
Posted by: Claude J. Summers on 06/13/12
Last updated on: 06/13/12
Bookmark and Share

Mary Gonzalez of El Paso won a decisive victory in the Democratic primary.

Congratulations to the glbtq victors in recent primaries. These include candidates for membership in the state legislatures of Maine, Nevada, California, New Mexico, and Texas, as reported by the Gay & Lesbian Victory Fund, which works to elect glbtq leaders to public office.

As the Victory Fund's website explains, "Lesbian, gay, bisexual and transgender office holders are our clearest and most convincing champions for true equality. As leaders in government, they become the face and voice of a community. They challenge the lies of extremists and speak authentically about themselves, their families and their community."

On May 30, 2012, Mary Gonzalez of El Paso won a decisive victory in the Democratic primary to represent District 75 in the Texas House of Representatives. Gonzalez faces no Republican opponent in November. She will become the state's only openly lesbian lawmaker, and only the second openly gay or lesbian ever to serve in the state's legislature.

In other races in Texas, primary elections were also won by Dallas County Sheriff Lupe Valdez and Travis County District Attorney Rosemary Lehmberg.

On June 5, 2012, Jacob Candelaria handily won a decisive Democratic primary to represent District 26 in the New Mexico Senate. With no Republican opponent in November, Candelaria will become New Mexico's only openly gay lawmaker, and one of the youngest state lawmakers in the country. He is Executive Director of Equality New Mexico.

In California on June 5, Mark Takano also qualified for a runoff to face Republican John Tavaglione in November to represent the state's 41st Congressional District. If he is elected, Takano would become the first openly glbtq person of color to serve in Congress.

Also in California, nine glbtq state legislative candidates won their primaries, including newcomers Susan Eggman (State Assembly, District 13) and Luis Lopez (State Assembly, District 51), as well as incumbents Tom Ammiano (State Assembly, District 17), Toni Atkins (State Assembly, District 78), Richard Gordon (State Assembly, District 24), Ricardo Lara (State Senate, District 33), Mark Leno (State Senate, District 11), John A. Pérez (State Assembly, District 53), and Cathleen Galgiani (pictured), who is currently in the State Assembly and running for State Senate, District 5.

On June 12, three openly gay Maine Democrats won their primaries and are expected to be elected to the state House: Andrew McLean, Terry Morrison, and Matt Moonen.

Also on June 12, three gay men and one lesbian won Democratic primaries for membership in the Nevada legislature. Incumbent David Parks was unopposed in his primary for reelection to the State Senate. Andrew Martin and James Healey won their Democratic primaries for seats in the Nevada Assembly. In addition, Patricia Spearman defeated an incumbent state senator. Since she faces no Republican opponent in the fall, she will become Nevada's first open lesbian to serve in the state legislature.

In the video below Patricia Spearman talks about her historic victory.

Related Encyclopedia Entries
browse:   arts   literature   social-sciences   discussion boards
learn more about glbtq       contact us       advertise on glbtq.com
Bookmark and Share

glbtq™ and its logo are trademarks of glbtq, Inc.
This site and its contents Copyright © 2002-2014, glbtq, Inc.

Your use of this site indicates that you accept its Terms of Service.