Permissions & Licensing
  Terms of Service
  Privacy Policy
  Copyright

Index      FAQ       Member List       Report Abuse        Guidelines    

Topic: "At Swim Two Boys" by Jamie O'Neill

Reply to topic   Post new topic
klemmre9  

Interests: art, literature, live theatre, cinema. Graphic artist by trade, also the video reviewer for Buffalo's free monthly gay newspaper. Also like to draw, paint and write. In 15 year relationship with my partner Andy
Physical Location: Buffalo, NY

Posted: 23 Nov 2003, 11:29 pm    Post subject: "At Swim Two Boys" by Jamie O'Neill Reply with quote

"At Swim Two Boys" by Jamie O'Neill is an amazing gay themed Joycean historical Irish novel. This is a book with gay characters - and gay sex - that is actually literature. I studied James Joyce in college and am in a "Ulysses" reading group that meets at one of the theatres here in Buffalo. Someone in the group (straight) told me about the book and raved about it. The book is told very much in the style of the early chapters of Joyce's "Ulysses," and it takes place in 1915 the year before the Easter Rebellion and concerns two 16 year old boys who live outside of Dublin; Jim Mack and his friend Doyler who teaches him to swim in the sea at this bathing spot, The Forty Foot, and they pledge to swim out to this far-off island the following Easter and claim it for Ireland. They also fall in love. "Pal 'o me heart," Doyler always calls Jim.