Permissions & Licensing
  Terms of Service
  Privacy Policy
  Copyright

Index      FAQ       Member List       Report Abuse        Guidelines    

Topic: "Dhalgren" by Samuel R. Delany

Reply to topic   Post new topic
klemmre9  

Interests: art, literature, live theatre, cinema. Graphic artist by trade, also the video reviewer for Buffalo's free monthly gay newspaper. Also like to draw, paint and write. In 15 year relationship with my partner Andy
Physical Location: Buffalo, NY

Posted: 24 Nov 2003, 12:10 am    Post subject: "Dhalgren" by Samuel R. Delany Reply with quote

I just posted about "At Swim Two Boys" by Jamie O'Neill. Another great one, and this one has haunted me for over 20 years, is "Dhalgren" by Samuel R. Delany.

Delany is a brilliant writer. He was the trailblazing original African American gay science fiction writer. He is also known for his non-fiction like "Times Square Red, Times Square Blue." Delany likes to mix mythology and science fiction and also play with language - like James Joyce a bit too - and this one has several gay characters and some explicit sex too that jolted this closeted 19 year old who first read it back in 1977 and has returned to it again many times over the years.

"Dhalgren" is this LOOOONG novel about this city that has suffered some un-named catastrophe. The rest of the world seems untouched, yet here iin Bellona buildings burn without being consumed, two moons appear in the sky, most of the people have left and society is anarchy, there is a commune in the park and gangs called Scorpions who wear holograms of mythical beasts, and the dates on the daily newspaper are never correct... 1970 one day 1915 the next. Something is so "off" but you are clueless what.