glbtq: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & queer culture
social sciences
special features
about glbtq


   member name
   Forgot Your Password?  
Not a Member Yet?  

  Advertising Opportunities
  Permissions & Licensing
  Terms of Service
  Privacy Policy






Alpha Index:  A-B  C-F  G-K  L-Q  R-S  T-Z

Subjects:  A-B  C-E  F-L  M-Z

page: 1  2  3  4  5  

In addition to supporting three awards, the Round Table also produces two annual bibliographies: the Rainbow Book List (est. 2009) and that Over the Rainbow Book List (est. 2011), designed to recognize quality books with significant and authentic glbtq content.

Lambda Literary Awards

Like the Stonewall Awards, the Lambda Literary Awards are landmarks in the world of glbtq literature. Founded in 1988, the Lammys are presented annually by the Lambda Literary Foundation, usually at a gala dinner in association with the meeting of the American Booksellers Association, for the purpose of "recogniz[ing] excellence in gay, lesbian, bisexual, and literature and publishing."

Lammys are given in as many as twenty categories, often with a male and female winner in each. In recent years and within selected genres, male and female authors have competed against each other, and books from small presses compete separately regardless of genre. Winners are selected by a large panel of judges.

Initially, the awards were given for fiction, nonfiction, poetry, first novel, and science fiction/fantasy/horror. The explosion of glbtq literature necessitated the creation of new categories: Children's/Young Adult Literature, Humor, Mystery, and Anthologies were all added in 1989, the latter further divided into fiction/nonfiction in 1994. Other categories added were Queer Studies and Biography/Autobiography (1993), Photography/Visual Arts and Drama (1994), Spirituality/Religion (1995), Transgender/Bisexual (1996), and Erotica and Romance (2001). AIDS books were included as a special category between 1988 and 1990.

An award for Debut Fiction, including a cash stipend, has in recent years been given to both a male and female author. In addition, the Lambda Literary Foundation presents some special awards, including Editor's Choice Awards, Pioneer Awards, and Publisher's Service Awards.

There is substantial overlap in Lammy and Stonewall honorees. Andrew Hollinghurst, winner of the first Lammy for gay male fiction, also won the Stonewall the same year. Other authors to appear on both lists include Dorothy Allison, Alison Bechdel, Christopher Bram, Michael Cunningham, Nancy Garden, David Leavitt, and Achy Obejas.

The sheer quantity of awards presented by the Lambda Literary Foundation guarantees a long and diverse list of winning authors. For example, thirteenth-century Arab scholar Ahmad al-Tifashi tied with Hispanic American Michael Nava for the first Lammy in the Gay Men's Small Press category, making al-Tifashi the first posthumously awarded author and Nava the first Hispanic winner.

Other Lammy winners include Gloria Anzalduá, George Chauncey, Tee Corinne, Leslie Feinberg, Katherine Forrest, Judy Grahn, Doris Grumbach, Harmony Hammond, Joseph Hansen, Karla Jay, Randall Kenan, Larry Kramer, Audre Lorde, Paula Martinac, J. D. McClatchy, Mark Merlis, Joan Nestle, Adrienne Rich, Will Roscoe, Assoto Saint, Claude Summers, Sarah Waters, Edmund White, Barbara Wilson, Jacqueline Woodson, and Bonnie Zimmerman.

The unusual rule that allows consideration in more than one category has led to the same title winning more than one Lammy in the same year (as, for example, Martin Duberman's Hidden from History and Paul Monette's Borrowed Time). The expansion of categories and a rule change that permits male and female authors to compete against each other within selected genres reduces the likelihood of repeat winners in a given year.

Publishing Triangle Awards

The Publishing Triangle Awards is another example of an award originating with a group of glbtq professionals. Founded in 1989 by the Association of Lesbians and Gay Men in Publishing, the awards intend to "further the publication of books . . .written by lesbian and gay authors or with lesbian and gay themes." The awards are presented annually to the best female and male author in several categories and carry a cash prize.

The Bill Whitehead Award, the oldest Publishing Triangle Award, honors lifetime achievement and is presented to a male in odd numbered years and a female in even numbered years. Whitehead winners have included Audre Lorde, Armistead Maupin, John Rechy, and M. E. Kerr. The playwriting award, established in 1994, also alternates between males and females and has acknowledged Lisa Korn, Doric Wilson, Paula Vogel, Chay Yew, and Christopher Shinn.

Nonfiction and poetry PTAs were added in 1997 and 2001 respectively. David Sedaris, Amber Hollibaugh, Terry Wolverton, Neil Miller, and John D'Emilio are just a few of the nonfiction awardees, while Mark Doty and Marilyn Hacker are representative of the poetry winners circle.

Since 1994, the Ferro-Grumley Awards have been presented as part of the Publishing Triangle Awards. Originally established in 1990, the Ferro-Grumley Awards are awarded for literary fiction and have paid tribute to Felice Picano, Michael Cunningham, Jeanette Winterson, and Carol Anshaw.

Newer Awards

The 1990s were a watershed period for glbtq book awards, with the creation of six new prizes. Kicking off the decade was the James Tiptree, Jr. Memorial Award. This independently financed annual prize honors science fiction or fantasy fiction that bends traditional gender concepts. The nomination process is open and five judges determine the winners, who receive a cash award.

  <previous page   page: 1  2  3  4  5   next page>  
Contact Us
Join the Discussion
Related Entries
More Entries by this contributor
A Bibliography on this Topic

Citation Information
More Entries about Literature
Popular Topics:

The Arts

Drag Shows: Drag Queens and Female Impersonators
Drag Shows: Drag Queens and Female Impersonators

Photography: Gay Male, Pre-Stonewall
Photography: Gay Male, Pre-Stonewall

Erotic and Pornographic Art: Gay Male
Erotic and Pornographic Art: Gay Male

New Queer Cinema

White, Minor

Halston (Roy Halston Frowick)


Winfield, Paul

McDowall, Roddy
McDowall, Roddy

Cadinot, Jean-Daniel
Cadinot, Jean-Daniel




This Entry Copyright © 2004, glbtq, inc. is produced by glbtq, Inc., 1130 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL   60607 glbtq™ and its logo are trademarks of glbtq, Inc.
This site and its contents Copyright © 2002-2006, glbtq, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site indicates that you accept its Terms of Service.