glbtq: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & queer culture
social sciences
special features
about glbtq


   member name
   Forgot Your Password?  
Not a Member Yet?  

  Advertising Opportunities
  Permissions & Licensing
  Terms of Service
  Privacy Policy






Alpha Index:  A-B  C-F  G-K  L-Q  R-S  T-Z

Subjects:  A-B  C-E  F-L  M-Z

page: 1  2  3  4  5  

A retrospective award was presented on the Tiptree's fifth anniversary to pay tribute to titles whose publication predated the award. Ursula K. Le Guin has won several Tiptrees, as well as the retrospective award. Several titles with glbtq themes, including works by Nicola Griffith, have received the award since 1991.

In 1996, the Arch and Bruce Brown Foundation awards were created. The awards rotate annually between three categories: theater, full-length fiction, and short fiction. Submissions must present glbtq life in a positive manner and must have some historical connection, either "based on or inspired by a historic person, culture, event, or work of art." More than one winner per year is permitted and a cash prize granted. Lesléa Newman and Harlan Greene may be the best known winners of this award.

In addition to writing awards, the Arch and Bruce Brown Foundation also presents Production Awards to offset expenses in producing theatrical, film, and video works.

Book industry professionals are responsible for producing the Firecracker Alternative Book Awards, which were established in 1996 and were given until 2002. Not limited to glbtq-themed works, Firecrackers honor books that other award juries might consider too wild or insurrectionary.

In keeping with this revolutionary stance, among the Firecrackers' ten categories are awards for the best books dealing with sex and drugs. Traditional genres are also included: fiction, nonfiction, poetry, art/photography, children's, music, and politics, as well as recognition for 'zines. Several books with glbtq content have won Firecrackers.

The entry-fee based Independent Publisher Book Awards, or "IPPY" awards, began in 1997. The awards recognize the best independently published titles in fifty-five categories. Glbtq works had their own category from the beginning, although fiction and nonfiction works compete against each other for the award. One winner and multiple finalists are awarded each year. The IPPYs are the first awards program open exclusively to independently published books; not surprisingly, the winners have been lesser known authors.

Unique among glbtq awards is the genre specific Gaylactic Spectrum Awards, which began in 1998. While the Tiptree awards focus on works that expand our understanding of gender, the Gaylactic Spectrum Awards honor "works in science fiction, fantasy and horror which include positive explorations of gay, lesbian, bisexual or transgendered characters, themes, or issues." The annual juried awards have an open nomination process and three permanent categories: novel, short fiction, and other work. Hall of Fame inductees are selected yearly in tribute to works originally released prior to 1998.

Winners and Hall of Fame inductees read like a who's who of science fiction: Madeline L'Engle, Marion Zimmer Bradley, Mercedes Lackey, Arthur C. Clarke, and Clive Barker.

In 1999 ForeWord Magazine, a trade magazine for independent publishers, established the Book of the Year Awards. To be eligible for this award, a work must originate with an independent or university press. Like the Independent Publisher Book Awards, this award also charges an entry fee. Originally, glbtq fiction and nonfiction vied against one another; however, now there are separate categories for the genres. Like the recipients of the IPPYs, most of the winners of this award are not well known. However, some of the recipients, such as Minne Bruce Pratt, Patricia Nell Warren, Michelle Tea, and Lawrence Schimel, are established glbtq writers.

Beginning in 2005, the Golden Crown Literary Society began offering Goldies to recognize quality lesbian literature. At first the awards were given in only three categories (romantic/erotic, mystery/adventure/thriller, and scifi/fantasy/paranormal/horror) plus a trailblazer award. Now the awards are given in numerous categories, though the emphasis remains on genre fiction, especially romance and mystery.

Some scholarly organizations also honor outstanding works on glbtq topics. For example, the Committee on Lesbian, Gay, and Transgender History, an affiliate of the American Historical Society, awards the John Boswell Prize for the outstanding book on glbtq history published in English over the previous two years. Similarly, the Association for Queer Anthropology, an affiliate of the American Anthropological Society, presents the Ruth Benedict Award annually to recognize excellence in a scholarly book written from an anthropological perspective about a glbtq topic.

Although not strictly a literary award, the Monette-Horwitz Awards, which recognize individuals who make significant contributions to eradicating frequently honor writers and scholars and are often presented at the Lambda Literary Awards ceremony. The Monette-Horwitz Trust was established in the will of novelist and memoirist Paul Monette to commemorate his loving partnership with Roger Horwitz. Among the writers who have been honored with Monette-Horwitz Awards are Lillian Faderman, Chris Freeman, Jonathan Ned Katz, Yolanda Retter, Will Roscoe, Barbara Smith, Susan Stryker, and Claude Summers.

  <previous page   page: 1  2  3  4  5   next page>  
Contact Us
Join the Discussion
Related Entries
More Entries by this contributor
A Bibliography on this Topic

Citation Information
More Entries about Literature
Popular Topics:

Social Sciences

Stonewall Riots
Stonewall Riots

Gay Liberation Front

The Sexual Revolution, 1960-1980
The Sexual Revolution, 1960-1980

Leather Culture

Anthony, Susan B.
Anthony, Susan B.

Africa: Sub-Saharan, Pre-Independence



Computers, the Internet, and New Media





This Entry Copyright © 2004, glbtq, inc. is produced by glbtq, Inc., 1130 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL   60607 glbtq™ and its logo are trademarks of glbtq, Inc.
This site and its contents Copyright © 2002-2006, glbtq, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site indicates that you accept its Terms of Service.