glbtq: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & queer culture
home
arts
literature
social sciences
special features
discussion
about glbtq
   search

 
   Encyclopedia
   Discussion
 
 

   member name
  
   password
  
 
   
   Forgot Your Password?  
   
Not a Member Yet?  
   
JOIN TODAY. IT'S FREE!

 
  Advertising Opportunities
  Permissions & Licensing
  Terms of Service
  Privacy Policy
  Copyright

 

 

 

 

 
literature

Alpha Index:  A-B  C-F  G-K  L-Q  R-S  T-Z

Subjects:  A-B  C-E  F-L  M-Z

     
Compton-Burnett, I. (1884-1969)  

The English lesbian novelist I[vy] Compton-Burnett explored passionate friendship between two women in her first novel and included lesbian and gay characters in two later novels.

Compton-Burnett was born June 5, 1884 (although she claimed 1892), earned a B.A. in Classics with second honors in 1906 from the Royal Holloway College of the University of London, was knighted in 1967, and died August 19, 1969.

Sponsor Message.

Compton-Burnett's method is to expose personal secrets between the lines of her novels-in-dialogue, but although she lived with her life companion--the writer, editor, and antiques expert Margaret Jourdain--from 1919 until Jourdain's death in 1951, no hint of this domestic arrangement surfaces in her fiction.

All of Compton-Burnett's works are set in the traditional world of the English squirearchy before its genteel complacency was shattered by World War I.

Compton-Burnett's first novel, Dolores (1911), might better have been called Dolores and Perdita in light of the shift of focus in the middle from one character to the other. The passionate friendship of the two central characters in this novel shows more psychological presentation of love between women than anything in the later novels.

Nevertheless, Dolores is not a successful novel. It is an imitation of George Eliot. Like much of Eliot, Dolores is badly proportioned, unselfconsciously proselytory, and extremely earnest, but its main weakness is a number of dull stretches where the author seems to get her characters talking and becomes unable to stop them even when they are saying nothing either to reveal their inner lives or to advance the plot.

Compton-Burnett perhaps recognized these weaknesses since it was thirteen years before she again attempted fiction. She later disowned this novel, citing neither its structural weaknesses nor its lesbian subtext but instead the collaborative meddling of her brother.

When she did return to writing, in Pastors and Masters (1925), she produced an entirely different sort of novel, wisely scrapping the features inspired by Eliot and focusing centrally on the dialogue passages, in the tradition of Thomas Love Peacock and Ronald Firbank.

This format allowed her to develop dialogue as a subtle medium for character revelation. She used this format throughout the rest of her career and developed it as a progressively more elliptical and subtle means of characterization as she went on.

Although there is nothing personal about the novels after Dolores, two novels are of particular interest because they include lesbian and gay characters.

More Women than Men (1933) concerns the staff of a girls' school. Most of the staff are apparently homosexual, and the dynamics of their interrelationships are viewed with wry humor and detachment. The theme of the book is that affectional and power relationships of all kinds are always in flux. As a result, no character's homosexual identity is entirely permanent here, and it is perhaps even suggested that homosexual identity is eventually outgrown although only quite late in life by some people.

In Two Worlds and Their Ways (1949), Compton-Burnett again chronicles English public (that is, private) school life, this time using a boys' school as well as a girls'. The comedy is more brittle and epigrammatic than in the earlier work. And Two Worlds and Their Ways has an extremely complicated plot. Startling events succeed one another rapidly, creating parallels so elaborate that they generate comedy. As in More Women than Men, various homosexual couplings are implied, but these are even more obliquely suggested.

Though Susan Crecy describes Compton-Burnett as an indirect advocate of homosexuality by virtue of the devastating excoriation of family life in her novels, her homosexual characters are just as manipulative as her straight ones. Indeed, she is important for lesbian studies chiefly by virtue of treating her lesbian characters just like everyone else. Compton-Burnett's style is the subject of a parody by Richard Mallett.

Edmund Miller

     

    
 interact  
   
Contact Us
 
Join the Discussion
 
 find 
   
Related Entries
 
More Entries by this contributor
 
A Bibliography on this Topic

 
Citation Information
 
More Entries about Literature
 
   
spacer
Popular Topics:

Social Sciences

 
Stonewall Riots
Stonewall Riots


Gay Liberation Front


The Sexual Revolution, 1960-1980
The Sexual Revolution, 1960-1980


Leather Culture


Anthony, Susan B.
Anthony, Susan B.


Africa: Sub-Saharan, Pre-Independence


Androgyny
Androgyny


Russia


Computers, the Internet, and New Media


Radicalesbians

 
 


   Related Entries
  
literature >> Overview:  Camp

Combining elements of incongruity, theatricality, and exaggeration, camp is a form of humor that helps homosexuals cope with a hostile environment.

literature >> Overview:  English Literature: Twentieth-Century

Homosexuality, both male and female, has a rich, divergent, and increasingly open expression in the literature of the twentieth century.

literature >> Overview:  Romantic Friendship: Female

Until the beginning of the twentieth century, intimate, exclusive, and often erotic romantic friendships between women were largely perceived as normal and socially acceptable.

literature >> Firbank, Ronald

Ronald Firbank's witty, campy novels mock the dominant homophobic, materialistic culture of early twentieth-century England.


    Bibliography
   

Burkhart, Charles. I. Compton-Burnett. London: Gollancz, 1965.

Crecy, Susan. "Ivy Compton[-]Burnett: Family as Nightmare." Lesbian and Gay Writing: An Anthology of Critical Essays. Mark Lilly, ed. Philadelphia: Temple University Press, 1990. 13-22.

Grieg, Cecily. Ivy Compton-Burnett: A Memoir. London: Garnestone, 1972.

Grylls, R[osalie] Glynn [Lady Mander]. Ivy Compton-Burnett. London: Longman, 1971.

Mallett, Richard. Literary Upshots; or, Split Reading. London: Jonathan Cape, 1951.

Sprigge, Elizabeth. The Life of Ivy Compton-Burnett. New York: Braziller, 1973.

 

    Citation Information
         
    Author: Miller, Edmund  
    Entry Title: Compton-Burnett, I.  
    General Editor: Claude J. Summers  
    Publication Name: glbtq: An Encyclopedia of Gay, Lesbian, Bisexual,
Transgender, and Queer Culture
 
    Publication Date: 2002  
    Date Last Updated May 28, 2002  
    Web Address www.glbtq.com/literature/compton_burnett_i.html  
    Publisher glbtq, Inc.
1130 West Adams
Chicago, IL   60607
 
    Today's Date  
    Encyclopedia Copyright: © 2002-2006, glbtq, Inc.  
    Entry Copyright © 1995, 2002 New England Publishing Associates  
 

 

This Entry Copyright © 1995, 2002 New England Publishing Associates

www.glbtq.com is produced by glbtq, Inc., 1130 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL   60607 glbtq™ and its logo are trademarks of glbtq, Inc.
This site and its contents Copyright © 2002-2006, glbtq, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site indicates that you accept its Terms of Service.