glbtq: an encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender & queer culture
social sciences
special features
about glbtq

   member name
   Forgot Your Password?  
Not a Member Yet?  

  glbtq Books
  Advertising Opportunities

  Press Kit

  Permissions & Licensing

  Terms of Service

  Privacy Policy




Special Features Index  

Spotlight Mystery Fiction
  Lesbian Mystery Fiction has its origins in the ubiquitous lesbian pulp novels of the 1950s and early 1960s. While Gay Male Mystery Fiction lacks the same roots, it has exploded in the decades since the Stonewall Riots.  
  Anthony Bidulka Anthony Bidulka (b. 1962) is the author of the Russell Quant detective series, mysteries that skirt the dark side of detective fiction through humor and emotional buoyancy.  
  Katherine V. Forrest Katherine V. Forrest (b. 1939) is an acclaimed writer and editor who has played a major role in bringing lesbian fiction to the forefront of the mystery and science fiction genres.  
  Andrea Goldsmith Andrea Goldsmith (b. 1950) is an Australian novelist who writes books that reflect her own life and dearest concerns--lesbian relationships, her hometown of Melbourne, Australian Jewish culture, and the inevitable, yet unpredictable, effect of the past upon the future.  
  Richard Hall (1926-1992), a novelist, playwright, and critic, wrote a popular mystery entitled The Butterscotch Prince (1975), though his claim to lasting literary fame rests on his short fiction.  
  Joseph Hansen Joseph Hansen (1923-2004) is best known as the author of the Dave Brandstetter mystery series, though he also published a considerable body of non-mystery fiction and poetry.  
  Ellen Hart Ellen Hart (b. 1949) is a prolific mystery author who writes "whydunits" rather than "whodunits." Her first book, Hallowed Murder (1989) introduced the Jane Lawless mysteries, a series which has won many awards.  
  Patricia Highsmith Patricia Highsmith (1921-1995) is the author of one explicitly lesbian novel as well as the popular series featuring the amoral bisexual Tom Ripley, which has inspired several films including The Talented Mr. Ripley (1999) and Ripley's Game (2002).  
  Mabel Maney Mabel Maney (b. 1958) is a San Francisco artist and satirist who spins lesbian adventure tales out of perky feminine archetypes from the 1950s and 1960s.  
  Val McDermid Val McDermid (b. 1955) is the award-winning Scottish author of three successful series of novels including one featuring lesbian investigative reporter Lindsay Gordon.  
  Michael Nava Michael Nava (b. 1954) is a mystery writer who has increasingly been recognized as an important novelist whose mature work transcends the limited expectations of a popular and highly specialized genre.  
  Dorothy Porter Dorothy Porter (1954-2008) was an Australian poet who presented a cheeky challenge to a literary establishment whose poetry has often been defined by pretension and obfuscation. Though best known for her poetry, Porter published El Dorado, a dark and enigmatic thriller, in 2007.  
  J. M. Redmann (b. 1955) is the Lambda Literary Award-winning author of six novels featuring protagonist Michele "Micky" Knight, a richly textured series focused on issues of power and family.  
  Christopher Rice Christopher Rice (b. 1978) is the author of five popular, gay-themed suspense thrillers, each of which has appeared on the New York Times best sellers list. He has also been active in supporting glbtq causes, especially those affecting glbtq youth.  
  Steven Saylor Steven Saylor (b. 1956) is best known for his highly successful mystery novels set in ancient Rome, though he began his writing career publishing erotica under the pen-name Aaron Travis.  
  Sarah Schulman Sarah Schulman (b. 1958) is an author and playwright concerned with constructing a lesbian identity around and against the multicultural identities of New York City.  
  Samuel Steward (1909-1993) was a college professor, tattoo artist, and author. While he published extensively under his given name, he is perhaps best remembered for the literate and explicit gay male erotica he published under the pseudonym Phil Andros.  
  Gore Vidal Gore Vidal (b. 1925) is an important contributor to the gay and lesbian literary heritage and a multifaceted writer whose works span many genres including mysteries written under the pseudonym Edgar Box.  
  John Morgan Wilson John Morgan Wilson (b. 1945) is best known today as the author of a gay male mystery series featuring a flawed and often exasperating amateur detective named Benjamin Justice.  
  Monique Wittig (1935-2003) was a controversial lesbian author and theorist who produced some of the most challenging works of second-wave feminism including the lesbian feminist crime novel Les Guérillères (1969).  
  Cornell Woolrich (1903-1968) was the author of popular hard-boiled fiction that reflected his homosexuality obliquely. Many of his works were adapted for radio, television, and film during his lifetime.  


Sign up for glbtq's free newsletter to receive a spotlight on GLBT culture every month.

e-mail address

privacy policy
 unsubscribe is produced by glbtq, Inc.,
1130 West Adams Street, Chicago, IL   60607 glbtq™ and its logo are trademarks of glbtq, Inc.
This site and its contents Copyright © 2002-2007, glbtq, Inc.  All Rights Reserved.
Your use of this site indicates that you accept its Terms of Service.